Landed with “No Roots” Alice Merton A super hit at the end of 2016. The song achieved top international placements and made many catchy tunes for a long time. But there is a serious story behind the piece with the catchy beat, because Alice Merton, who was born in Frankfurt am Main, grew up in a total of four countries and therefore knows only too well the feeling of being uprooted.

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

At our jubilee show on the occasion of ten years of TV Noir in Berlin's Admiralspalast, Alice Merton presented “No Roots” in a very unusual way: Her hit can no longer be danced all alone at the piano, but rather stimulates reflection and almost sets the tone little sad. Alice said on TV Noir:

“I'm very often asked why this version sounds so sad and I always answer that there are always two sides to all moving: There is this side that you move very often and like to meet new people and see many places, but then there is also the side that makes you very depressed and you always have the feeling that you have been torn away by someone. And that hurts a lot and that's this side, so to speak. "

Alice Mertons Debut album "MINT" is available now and of course also contains “No Roots”. Here you can find more clips from Alice's appearance on Ten Years TV Noir.

Neuer Clip: Alice Merton – No Roots

Mit “No Roots” landete Alice Merton Ende 2016 einen Superhit. Der Song erreichte internationale Topplatzierungen und sorgte bei vielen für lang anhaltende Ohrwürmer. Doch hinter dem Stück mit dem eingängigen Beat steckt eine ernste Geschichte, denn die in Frankfurt am Main geborene Alice Merton wuchs in insgesamt vier Ländern auf und kennt deshalb nur zu gut das Gefühl, entwurzelt zu sein.

Bei unserer Jubliäumsshow anlässlich von zehn Jahren TV Noir im Berliner Admiralspalast präsentierte Alice Merton “No Roots” in einer ganz ungewohnten Art und Weise: Ganz alleine am Klavier ist ihr Hit nicht mehr tanzbar, sondern regt viel mehr zum Nachdenken an und stimmt fast schon ein wenig traurig. Alice sagte dazu bei TV Noir:

„Ich werde sehr oft gefragt, warum diese Version so traurig klingt und ich antworte immer darauf, dass es immer zwei Seiten gibt vom ganzen Umziehen: Es gibt diese Seite, dass du super oft umziehst und gerne neue Leute kennenlernst und viele Orte siehst, aber dann gibt es auch die Seite, die dich sehr deprimiert macht und du immer das Gefühl hast, dass du von jemandem weggerissen bist. Und das tut sehr weh und das ist sozusagen diese Seite.“

Alice Mertons Debütalbum “MINT” ist ab sofort erhältlich und enthält natürlich auch “No Roots”. Hier findet Ihr weitere Clips von Alices Auftritt bei Zehn Jahr TV Noir.