An American, an Italian and a British meet at a tiny acoustic festival, successfully found a band, call themselves Mighty Oaks and are now releasing their third studio album “All Things Go”. They stick to their recipe for success: catchy, polyphonic indie folk songs that sound more like the forests of Canada than the crowded streets of Berlin.

The restrained instrumentation creates an airy, light sound and makes the songs seem hopeful, almost happy, despite their melancholy content. While the themes of the songs are mostly universally applicable to the audience, singer Ian Hooper becomes very personal on “Aileen” and deals with cancer and the death of his mother. In general, it is more about family and interpersonal issues and no longer just about longings and the distance.

Due to this lightness and catchiness, the songs on the new album run the risk of sinking into the noise and the hectic pace of everyday life, because what is missing is a real highlight that shakes the listener between all the melancholy and ensures that not everyone feels Combine songs into a single beautiful mass.

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

In addition to the songwriting, the great strength of the three Berliners by choice has always been the live shows, because there it happens that the songs, which may not immediately stand out on the record, are breathed into life. A good example of this are the appearances at TV Noir, where they have now been guests twice.

Mighty Oaks will start their extensive European tour in February. It pays to be quick because the first dates are already sold out. Tickets are available here.

Mighty Oaks live

February 17th, 2020 Munich, Muffathalle
February 18, 2020 Vienna (AT), Arena
February 20, 2020 Stuttgart, LKA Langhorn
02/27/2020 Dortmund, Konzerthaus
02/29/2020 Cologne, Lmh
March 2nd, 2020 Wiesbaden, slaughterhouse
03.03.2020 Hamburg, Great Freedom
March 4th, 2020 Berlin, Huxley's New World

Click the button below to load the contents of open.spotify.com.

Load content

Follow our “TV Noir Favorite Pieces” playlist. There you will find the latest releases from TV Noir artists and other great musical discoveries.

Mighty Oaks beweisen: Alle guten Dinge sind Drei

Ein Amerikaner, ein Italiener und ein Brite finden sich bei einem winzigen Akustik-Festival, gründen erfolgreich eine Band, nennen sich Mighty Oaks und veröffentlichen mittlerweile ihr drittes Studioalbum „All Things Go“. Dabei halten sie an ihrem Erfolgsrezept fest: eingängige, mehrstimmige Indie-Folk Songs, die mehr nach den Wäldern Kanadas als den vollen Straßen Berlins klingen.

Die zurückhaltende Instrumentierung erschafft ein luftig leichtes Klangbild und lässt die Songs, trotz melancholischer Inhalte, hoffnungsvoll, ja fast schon fröhlich wirken. Während die Themen der Songs überwiegend universell auf die Hörerschaft anwendbar sind, wird Sänger Ian Hooper bei „Aileen“ sehr persönlich und verarbeitet die Krebserkrankung und den Tod seiner Mutter. Generell geht es mehr um familiäre und zwischenmenschliche Themen und nicht mehr nur um Sehnsüchte und die Ferne.

Auf Grund dieser Leichtigkeit und Eingängigkeit laufen die Songs des neuen Albums allerdings auch Gefahr, im Lärm und der Hektik des Alltags zu versinken, denn was fehlt ist ein wirkliches Highlight, das die HörerInnen zwischen all der Melancholie wachrüttelt und dafür sorgt, dass sich nicht alle Songs zu einer einzigen schönen Masse verbinden.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Neben dem Songwriting liegt die große Stärke der drei Wahlberliner jedoch schon immer in den Live-Shows, denn dort passiert es, dass die Lieder, die auf Platte vielleicht nicht sofort herausstechen, ihr Leben eingehaucht bekommen. Ein gutes Beispiel dafür sind die Auftritte bei TV Noir, wo sie nun bereits zwei Mal zu Gast waren.

Bereits im Februar beginnen Mighty Oaks daher ihre ausgiebige Europatour. Schnell sein lohnt sich, denn die ersten Termine sind bereits ausverkauft. Tickets gibt es hier.

Mighty Oaks live

17.02.2020 München, Muffathalle
18.02.2020 Wien (AT), Arena
20.02.2020 Stuttgart, LKA Langhorn
27.02.2020 Dortmund, Konzerthaus
29.02.2020 Köln, Lmh
02.03.2020 Wiesbaden, Schlachthof
03.03.2020 Hamburg, Große Freiheit
04.03.2020 Berlin, Huxleys Neue Welt

Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von open.spotify.com zu laden.

Inhalt laden

Folgt unserer „TV Noir Lieblingsstücke“-Playlist. Dort findet Ihr die aktuellen Veröffentlichungen von TV Noir-Künstlern und -Künstlerinnen und allen, die sich ebenfalls in diesem musikalischen Kosmos bewegen.