Danger Dan reignites the discussion about artistic freedom in his new single “This is all covered by artistic freedom”. It doesn't seem that long ago, the discourse about Böhmermann's humiliating poem in the direction of Erdogan, in which one asked oneself: what is art allowed to do?

If Danger Dan has its way, then she can do one thing above all: name Germany's new rights by name. Elsässer, Kubitschek, Jebsen, Gauland or Germany's ailing police apparatus. In a skillful cabaret way, Danger Dan wonders what could happen now, assuming he would express the thoughts that many normal-thinking, empathic and rational people probably have.

The musician is already tried and tested. With his antelope gang he had to position himself in court against Ken Jebsen a few years ago, because he felt attacked by the song “Beate Zschäpe hears U2”. Jebsen then lost the charge. But what else can I do? Who else can you legitimately step on the tie?

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

In addition to denouncing the figures mentioned, Danger Dan also reckons with the failure of politics in terms of coming to terms with past incidents. In addition to the inadequate investigation of the NSU crimes, he also criticizes the lack of investigations into the death of Oury Jalloh, who died in police custody in Dessau.

“That is all covered by artistic freedom” is a skilful all-round blow to the faces of inhuman people and institutions. The song is already being traded as one of the biggest musical surprises in 2021. It is just a first foretaste of Danger Dan's unexpected piano album, which is also entitled “This is all covered by artistic freedom”, and which will be released at the end of the month. In 2022 there will be Danger Dan live on the piano.

Danger Dan live:

May 3rd, 2022 Leipzig, Conne Island
May 4th, 2022 Erlangen, E-Werk
05.05.2022 Vienna (Austria), Odeon
May 6th, 2022 Munich, Feierwerk
May 7th, 2022 Wiesbaden, Ringkirche
May 9th, 2022 Cologne, Luxor
May 10th, 2022 Hamburg, market hall
May 12th, 2022 Bremen, slaughterhouse
May 13, 2022 Hanover, Faust 
May 14th, 2022 Dresden, Aunt Ju
May 25th, 2022 Berlin, Festsaal Kreuzberg

Click the button below to load the contents of open.spotify.com.

Load content

Follow our “TV Noir Favorite Pieces” playlist. There you will find the latest releases from TV Noir artists and other great musical discoveries.

Danger Dan balanciert auf dem Rücken der Kunstfreiheit

Danger Dan entfacht ein weiteres Mal die Diskussion um künstlerische Freiheit in seiner neuen Single “Das ist alles von der Kunstfreiheit gedeckt”. Er scheint noch gar nicht lang her, der Diskurs um das Böhmermann'sche Schmähgedicht in Richtung Erdogan, bei dem man sich fragte: was darf die Kunst?

Wenn es nach Danger Dan geht, dann darf sie vor allem eines: Deutschlands neue Rechte beim Namen nennen. Elsässer, Kubitschek, Jebsen, Gauland oder Deutschlands maroder Polizeiapparat. Auf gekonnt kabarettistische Art fragt sich Danger Dan, was denn nun alles passieren könnte, angenommen er würde die Gedanken, die wohl viele normaldenkende, empathische und vernunftbegabte Menschen haben, aussprechen.

Klageerprobt ist der Musiker ja schon. Mit seiner Antilopen Gang musste er sich vor einigen Jahren vor Gericht gegen Ken Jebsen positionieren, da sich dieser von dem Song “Beate Zschäpe hört U2” angegriffen fühlte. Jebsen verlor damals die Anklage. Doch was geht noch? Wem kann man noch berechtigt auf den Schlips treten?

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Neben der Anprangerung genannter Figuren rechnet Danger Dan ebenfalls mit dem Versagen der Politik in puncto Aufarbeitung vergangener Vorfälle ab. Neben der mangelhaften Ermittlung der NSU-Verbrechen kritisiert er auch die fehlenden Ermittlungen im Todesfall Oury Jalloh, welcher in Dessau in Polizeigewahrsam verstarb.

“Das ist alles von der Kunstfreiheit gedeckt” ist ein gekonnter Rundumschlag in die Gesichter menschenverachtender Personen und Institutionen. Der Song wird schon jetzt als eine der größten musikalischen Überraschungen 2021 gehandelt. Dabei ist er nur ein erster Vorgeschmack auf Danger Dans unerwartetes Klavieralbum, das ebenfalls den Titel “Das ist alles von der Kunstfreiheit gedeckt” trägt, und Ende des Monats erscheinen wird. 2022 gibt es Danger Dan am Klavier dann auch live.

Danger Dan live:

03.05.2022 Leipzig, Conne Island
04.05.2022 Erlangen, E-Werk
05.05.2022 Wien (Österreich), Odeon
06.05.2022 München, Feierwerk
07.05.2022 Wiesbaden, Ringkirche
09.05.2022 Köln, Luxor
10.05.2022 Hamburg, Markthalle
12.05.2022 Bremen, Schlachthof
13.05.2022 Hannover, Faust 
14.05.2022 Dresden, Tante Ju
25.05.2022 Berlin, Festsaal Kreuzberg

Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von open.spotify.com zu laden.

Inhalt laden

Folgt unserer “TV Noir Lieblingsstücke”-Playlist. Dort findet Ihr die aktuellen Veröffentlichungen von TV Noir-Künstlern und -Künstlerinnen und weiteren tollen musikalischen Entdeckungen.