It was not even a year ago that Mando Diao wowed and for with their album “Bang” TV Noir stood on the stage. The Swedish LP “I solnommen”, which was released just a month ago, is even closer. Now, quite unexpectedly, they follow up with an EP and combine their previous discography with the five songs. “All the People” is the name of the EP with which the Swedes are upgrading their music this summer. It is a small homage to tour life and to the people who have accompanied Mando Diao up to this point. The pandemic had also led their tour on black ice and so the summer was full of festivals and a European tour for Mando Diao. “All The People” pays a little tribute to their companions and perpetuates their stations in five wonderful songs.

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

After they increasingly turned towards the blues on the previous album “Bang” and almost surprised with an American western mentality, the musicians on the EP again take on the well-known folk character with which they started off in the 00s. With no pressure on big choruses and redundant hit elements, “All the People” pours like sugar-sweet, sticky honey over the summer lethargy. Similar dreamy as on “Ochrasy” or "How We Walk" Mando Diao revive the gentle Swedish folk melodies on this EP. With that they should fulfill all unspoken wishes of their fans. Good guitar riffs and some psychedelic effects are of course not missing. Yes, it almost seems as if the band dares to venture a little digression into their past with “All the People” and break away from the newer blues influences.

Mando Diao between declaration of love and obituary

The EP not only features the strong, throaty voice of front man Björn Dixgard! His colleague Jens Siverstedt also takes on the lead vocals for a wonderful, soft moment on the song “Magic Kiss” - a song that Jens dedicates to his fiancée. But Björn is also unusually calm on this EP, occasionally even switching to the head voice, like on “Fly to Me”. The song almost seems like an acoustic version, so muffled are the drums and the little interludes that the bass and guitar keep sprinkling into the ballad. As with the other songs, some people were portrayed here, namely the band's deceased advertising companions. The lovingly sung words that Björn shares with us with unusual tenderness appear all the more emotional.

Each song has its own dramaturgy, which does not always follow the well-known Mando-Diao patterns, but rather lets the songs drift. In some places you can almost see the five musicians jamming together in the scorching heat and surrounded by mosquitos. But if you really want to experience the boys live, you can 'visit' the online concert on July 20th, 2020. here get your tickets for the streaming concert!

Click the button below to load the contents of open.spotify.com.

Load content

Follow our “TV Noir Favorite Pieces” playlist. There you will find the latest releases from TV Noir artists and everyone who is also involved in this musical cosmos.

“All the People” – Mando Diao überraschen mit einer zarten EP

Es ist nicht mal ein Jahr her, dass Mando Diao mit ihrem Album “Bang” begeisterten und für TV Noir auf der Bühne standen. Noch näher liegt die Schwedische LP “I solnegangen”, die erst vor einem Monat erschien. Nun schieben sie ganz unerwartet mit einer EP noch einmal nach und vereinen mit den fünf Songs ihre bisherige Diskografie. “All the People” heißt die EP, mit der die Schweden diesen Sommer musikalisch aufwerten. Es ist eine kleine Hommage an das Tourleben und an die Menschen, die Mando Diao bis hierhin begleitet haben. Die Pandemie hatte auch ihre Tour aufs Glatteis geführt und so ging der Sommer voller Festivals und Europa-Tour für Mando Diao baden. “All The People” zollt nun aber ihren Wegbegleiter/innen etwas Tribut und verewigt ihre Stationen in fünf wunderbaren Songs.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Nachdem sie auf dem vergangenen Album “Bang” sich verstärkt in Richtung Blues wandten und fast mit amerikanischer Westernmentalität überraschten, schlagen die Musiker auf der EP wieder den wohlbekannten Folkcharakter an, mit dem sie in den 00er Jahren durchstarteten. Ohne Bedrängnis auf große Refrains und redundante Hitelemente, ergießt sich “All the People” wie zuckersüßer, klebriger Honig über die Sommerlethargie. Ähnlich träumerisch wie auf “Ochrasy” oder “How We Walk” lassen Mando Diao auf dieser EP erneut die sanften schwedischen Folk-Melodien aufleben. Damit dürften sie alle unausgesprochenen Wünsche ihrer Fans erfüllen. Gute Gitarren Riffs und einige psychedelische Effekte fehlen dabei natürlich trotzdem nicht. Ja, es scheint fast, als würde die Band mit “All the People” einen kleinen Exkurs in ihre Vergangenheit wagen und sich von den neueren Blues-Einflüssen lösen.

Mando Diao zwischen Liebeserklärung und Nachruf

Auf der EP ist außerdem nicht nur die starke, kehlige Stimme von Frontmann Björn Dixgard zu hören! Auch sein Kollege Jens Siverstedt übernimmt den Leadgesang für einen wunderbar, weichen Moment auf dem Song “Magic Kiss” – ein Song, den Jens seiner Verlobten widmet. Doch auch Björn ist auf dieser EP ungewohnt ruhig, wechselt sogar gelegentlich in die Kopfstimme, wie auf “Fly to Me”. Der Song scheint fast wie eine Akustikversion, so gedämpft sind die Drums und die kleinen Zwischenspiele, die Bass und Gitarre immer wieder in die Ballade einstreuen. Wie auch die anderen Songs, standen hierfür einige Menschen Porträt, und zwar die verstorbenen Werbegleiter*innen der Band. Umso emotionaler erscheinen die liebevoll gesungenen Worte, die Björn ungewohnt zart mit uns teilt.

Jeder Song für sich verfolgt eine eigene Dramaturgie, die nicht immer den bekannten Mando-Diao-Mustern folgt, sondern die Songs viel eher treiben lässt. An einigen Stellen kann man fast die fünf Musiker gemeinsam in sengender Hitze und von Mücken umgeben jammen sehen. Wer die Jungs aber tatsächlich live erleben möchte, der kann das Online-Konzert am 20.07.2020 ‘besuchen'. Hier bekommt Ihr Tickets für das Streaming-Konzert!

Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von open.spotify.com zu laden.

Inhalt laden

Folgt unserer “TV Noir Lieblingsstücke”-Playlist. Dort findet Ihr die aktuellen Veröffentlichungen von TV Noir-Künstlern und -Künstlerinnen und allen, die sich ebenfalls in diesem musikalischen Kosmos bewegen.