Our 90,000,000th clip was recently viewed on YouTube. We are taking this as an opportunity to start a countdown (-up?) And introduce the ten most-watched artists on TV Noir by the one hundred millionth view. Ladies and Gentlemen, Number 10 is… Kat Frankie!

The word exceptional artist ranks in the top 3 empty empty words between varied and exciting. But anyone who deals with Kat Frankie will hardly be able to avoid having the attribute of the exceptional artist like a lightning bolt in their head. The Berliner by choice shows herself to be too varied - be it in various collaborations with artists such as Olli Schulz, in whose band she played, Get Well Soon for the grandiose title song by “Schulz und Böhmermann”, her band project KEØMA and Clueso or with her four albums.

With each of them, the Australian opens up a new reality that is reminiscent of the old one, but is completely different. Sometimes dark and soulful like on their second album “The Dance of a Stranger Heart”, sometimes tender and vulnerable like on “Please Don't Give Me What I Want”. The latest LP “Bad Behavior” is already one of the most exciting albums of 2018 and once again opens the interdimensional door to another world. Playful, self-confident and although very loud, but very personal.

Where others lose themselves between synths and keyboard in the 80s retro image, Kat Frankie understands how to play it as discreetly as an instrument in order to ultimately give it its own color. At the end there is a tracklist that lights up all facets. Danceable songs like “Headed for the Reaper” and “Back to Life”, in which the voice is so distorted that it almost sounds male, and the beat-heavy melody imitates the wistful heartbeat, line up with the spherical sounds of “Versailles”. Ballads like “Finite” are also reminiscent of the old reality. The constant companion through the different universes is always the unmistakable voice of Kat Frankie, which guides you through the darkness like a little light. The listener likes to cling to it and can therefore fully engage with the music.

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Platz 10: Kat Frankie – interdimensionale Musik

Vor kurzem wurde bei YouTube unserer 90.000.000-ster Clip angesehen. Das nehmen wir zum Anlass, einen Countdown (-up?) zu starten, und bis zum hundertmillionsten View die zehn meistgesehenen Künstler bei TV Noir vorzustellen. Ladies and Gentlemen, Number 10 is… Kat Frankie!

Das Wort Ausnahmekünstlerin reiht sich in die Top 3 der inhaltslosen Worthülsen direkt zwischen abwechslungsreich und spannend ein. Wer sich aber mit Kat Frankie beschäftigt, wird kaum umher kommen das Attribut der Ausnahmekünstlerin wie einen aufhellenden Blitz im Kopf zu haben. Zu abwechslungsreich zeigt sich die Wahlberlinerin – sei es bei diversen Kooperationen mit Künstlern wie Olli Schulz, in dessen Band sie spielte, Get Well Soon für den grandiosen Titelsong von “Schulz und Böhmermann”, ihrem Bandprojekt KEØMA und Clueso oder bei ihren mittlerweile vier Alben.

Bei jedem von ihnen macht die Australierin eine neue Realität auf, die zwar an die alten erinnert, aber sich doch komplett anders gestaltet. Mal gefühlvoll-düster wie auf ihrem zweiten Album “The Dance of a Stranger Heart”, mal zärtlich und verletzlich wie bei “Please Don’t Give Me What I Want”. Auch die neuste LP “Bad Behaviour” ist schon jetzt eines der spannendsten Alben 2018 und öffnet erneut das interdimensionale Tor in eine andere Welt. Verspielt, selbstbewusst und obwohl sehr laut, doch sehr persönlich.

Wo andere sich zwischen Synthies und Keyboard im 80er-Jahre-Retro-Image verlieren, versteht Kat Frankie dieses wie dezent wie ein Instrument zu spielen, um ihm letztendlich einen eigenen Farbton zu geben. Am Ende steht dann eine Tracklist, die alle Facetten zum Leuchten bringt. Tanzbare Lieder wie “Headed for the Reaper” und “Back to Life”, bei dem die Stimme so verzerrt ist, dass sie beinahe männlich klingt, und die beatlastige Melodie den sehnsüchtigen Herzschlag imitiert, reihen sich an die sphärischen Klänge von “Versailles”. An die alte Realität erinnern zusätzlich Balladen wie „Finite“. Der konstante Begleiter durch die verschiedenen Universen ist stets die unverwechselbare Stimme von Kat Frankie, welche wie ein kleines Licht durch die Dunkelheit führt. Zu gern klammert sich der Zuhörer daran und kann sich dadurch in voller Gänze auf die Musik einlassen.