Now there it is: That Debut album the Norwegian girl in red. In the past two years she has filled the clubs not only in the far north, but also in Germany and brought teenagers to the edge of madness. She is loud, casual, vulnerable, queer and talented - so it's no wonder that she has earned some early praise with just a handful of songs. But while she let loose her EPs on people from her children's room on her own, she recorded this album with a talented team and in a professional studio. Including Finneas, the brother and songwriter of Shootingstar Billie Eilish. But you can't hear the new team. And that's the way it should be, it was this painful intimacy with which girl in red convinced everyone. On “If I Could Make It Go Quiet” there are only a few tracks that were already known, and the sound just got a little lush. But as the title suggests, girl in red is as open as ever and finds exactly the words that both sound like irrational teenage pain and still have the potential to touch adults. 

girl in red shows new pages on “Serotonin”

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

The focus is not only on big questions of identity and lovesickness, but above all on your psychological problems. Also on the social networks the musician is open about depression and anxiety disorders. Sometimes she doesn't come outside the door for weeks, in other phases of life she is troubled by the inconstancy that touring brings with it. So if you're expecting a smooth-ironed pop star, you've come to the wrong place. Because all of this finds its way into her songs. That doesn't have to sound automatically sad, it doesn't miss its effect even with strong guitar riffs. So on the opener “Serotonin”:

"I'm running low on serotonin 
Chemical imbalance got me twisting things 
Stabilize with medicine 
There's no depth to these feelings 
Dig deep, can't hide 
From the corners of my mind 
I'm terrified of what's inside " 

girl in red - serotonin

While the musician toying with rap on this song, she combines pop and indie elements as usual on other tracks. With charm and attitude she sings, for example, about the accentuated rhythms of "Body And Mind". The single reveals just as deep crises as the powerful, dark sound suggests. But “If I Could Make It Go Quiet” reveals not only the inner chaos, but also the delicate side of girl in red. There is, for example, a heartbreaking love song that has exactly the amount of honesty that you just have to admire this young singer for. "Hornylovesickmess" is so ironic, so open and so straightforward. In contrast to this bluntness is the instrumental, full end of the song, which is lost in ambient sounds.

Rue - the song on which everything flows together

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

The album is at the same time one big feeling and yet incredibly multifaceted. The many doors that girl in red opened with her impulsive bedroom singles all seem to bring them together on “If I Could Make It Go Quiet”. The titles converge, allow themselves kitschy fragments as well as artistic wobbles and slow spirals in the vortex of thoughts. One of the highlights that unite everything is definitely “Rue”. The Norwegian starts the song almost acoustically, which then opens up into a fantastic chorus. Seldom has depression been as catchy and catchy as it is in this part, to which more and more elements are being added. But it is precisely this opulence that she contrasts with delicate, fragile singing. We hear a pleading whisper before the song hits you again. Goose bumps!

"Yeah, I tried
to get it off my mind
to leave it all behind
Don't wanna make it wore,
I gonna make it work "

girl in red - Rue

Click the button below to load the contents of open.spotify.com.

Load content

Follow our “TV Noir Favorite Pieces” playlist. There you will find the latest releases from TV Noir artists and other great musical discoveries.

Veröffentlicht am

girl in red – Nie war Schmerz so catchy

Da ist es nun: Das Debüt-Album der Norwegerin girl in red. In den vergangenen zwei Jahren hat sie nicht nur im hohen Norden, sondern auch schon in Deutschland die Klubs gefüllt und Teenager an den Rand des Wahnsinns gebracht. Sie ist laut, lässig, verwundbar, queer und talentiert – kein Wunder also, dass sie sich schon mit einer Handvoll Songs einige Vorschusslorbeeren verdient hat. Während sie aber ihre EPs im absoluten Alleingang aus ihrem Kinderzimmer auf die Menschen losließ, hat sie dieses Album mit einem talentierten Team und im professionellen Studio aufgenommen. Darunter auch Finneas, der Bruder und Songwriter von Shootingstar Billie Eilish. Hören kann man das neue Team aber nicht. Und so soll es auch sein, war es doch diese schmerzvolle Intimität, mit der girl in red alle überzeugte.  Auf “If I Could Make It Go Quiet” gibt es nur wenige Titel, die bereits bekannt waren, und auch der Sound ist noch ein wenig üppiger geworden. Doch wie der Titel schon ankündigt, zeigt sich girl in red offen wie immer und findet genau die Worte, die sowohl nach irrationalem Teenie-Schmerz klingen und trotzdem das Potenzial haben, Erwachsene zu berühren. 

girl in red zeigt auf “Serotonin” neue Seiten

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Im Zentrum stehen nicht nur große Indentitäts-Fragen und Liebeskummer, sondern vor allem ihre psychischen Probleme. Auch auf den sozialen Netzwerken geht die Musikerin mit Depressionen und Angststörungen offen um. Mal kommt sie wochenlang nicht vor die Tür, in anderen Lebensphasen macht ihr die Unbeständigkeit, die das Touren mit sich bringt, zu schaffen. Wer also einen glattgebügelten Popstar erwartet, der ist hier an der falschen Adresse. Denn all das findet auch Einzug in ihre Songs. Das muss nicht automatisch traurig klingen, sondern verfehlt auch mit starken Gitarrenriffs nicht seine Wirkung. So auf dem Opener “Serotonin”:

„I'm running low on serotonin 
Chemical imbalance got me twisting things 
Stabilize with medicine 
There's no depth to these feelings 
Dig deep, can't hide 
From the corners of my mind 
I'm terrified of what's inside“ 

girl in red – Serotonin

Während die Musikerin auf diesem Song mit Rap liebäugelt, vereint sie auf anderen Titeln wie gewohnt Pop- und Indie-Elemente. Mit Charme und Attitüde singt sie zum Beispiel über die akzentuierten Rhythmen von “Body And Mind”. Die Single offenbart ebenso tiefe Krisen, wie es der kraftvolle, düstere Sound vermuten lässt. Doch “If I Could Make It Go Quiet” offenbart nicht nur das innerliche Chaos, sondern auch die zarten Seiten von girl in red. Da ist zum Beispiel ein herzzerreißender Lovesong, der genau die Portion Ehrlichkeit hat, für die man diese junge Sängerin einfach bewundern muss. “hornylovesickmess” ist so ironisch, so offen und so schnörkellos. Im Kontrast zu dieser Unverblümtheit steht das instrumentale, satte Ende des Songs, das sich in Ambientsounds verliert.

Rue – der Song auf dem alles zusammen fließt

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Das Album ist gleichzeitig ein einziges großes Gefühl und trotzdem unheimlich facettenreich. Die vielen Türen, die girl in red durch ihre impulsiven Bedroom-Singles aufgemacht hat, scheinen alle auf “If I Could Make It Go Quiet” zusammen zu führen. Die Titel laufen aufeinander zu, erlauben sich ebenso kitschige Fragmente wie auch artistisches Wabern und langsame Spiralen in den Strudeln der Gedanken. Zu den Höhepunkten, die alles vereinen, gehört definitiv “Rue”. Fast akustisch startet die Norwegerin in den Song, der sich dann in einen fantastischen Refrain öffnet. Selten waren Depressionen so eingängig und catchy, wie in diesem Teil, dem immer mehr Elemente hinzugefügt werden. Doch genau dieser Opulenz setzt sie einen zarten, zerbrechlichen Gesang entgegen. Wir hören ein flehendes Flüstern bevor der Song wieder über einen hereinbricht. Gänsehaut!

„Yeah, I tried
to get it off my mind
to leave it all behind
Don't wanna make it wore,
I gonna make it work“

girl in red – Rue

Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von open.spotify.com zu laden.

Inhalt laden

Folgt unserer “TV Noir Lieblingsstücke”-Playlist. Dort findet Ihr die aktuellen Veröffentlichungen von TV Noir-Künstlern und -Künstlerinnen und weiteren tollen musikalischen Entdeckungen.