Posted on

No sign of a break at the Mighty Oaks

Without much hesitation, Mighty Oaks release their new album “Mexico” just under a year after “All Things Must Go”. Such a seemingly never-ending lockdown also has its good points. Recorded for the first time in Ian Hooper's home studio, “Mexico” returns sonically to the roots of the three Berliners of choice. Even if the album only took a year to produce and the record was written during a global pandemic, it doesn't sound rushed or desperate. The 12 songs offer a harmonious unity of classical folk. This is significantly reduced than on the previous albums. And that's exactly what makes “Mexico” such a strong record.

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

The opener “Land of Broken Dreams” is about the bitter rest of the American dream. The opponent “Mexico” from this place of longing far away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. “I wrote the song when we were just getting through the first lockdown and people were arguing over a pack of toilet paper - we got so far as humans and then something like this happens? It is absurd! It's an escapist song, but also an ironic criticism of the absurdity of everything, ”says Ian Hooper.

But the album is by no means a pandemic record. Furthermore, love and relationships play a dominant role on “Mexico”. Be it in the melancholy “Ghost” or the rousing “By Your Side” - the sadly beautiful love sliders are what Mighty Oaks do best. Besides playing live, of course. An extensive tour through Germany and neighboring countries is planned for the coming year.

Mighty Oaks on tour:

March 12th, 2022 Kiel, Max Night Theater
March 14th, 2022 Jena, Kassablanca platform 1
March 16, 2022 Cologne, E-Werk Cologne
March 17th, 2022 Würzburg, Posthalle
March 18, 2022 Leipzig, Täubchental
March 19, 2022 Hanover, Capitol
March 21, 2022 Hamburg, edel-optics.de Arena
March 22nd, 2022 Bremen, Kulturzentrum Schlachthof
March 23, 2022 Osnabrück, Rosenhof Osnabrück
March 24th, 2022 Amsterdam (Netherlands), Melkweg
March 26th, 2022 Heidelberg, hall02
03/27/2022 Luxembourg (Luxembourg), the Atelier
28.03.2022 Brussels (Belgium), Ancienne Belgique
March 30th, 2022 Paris (France), La Maroquinerie
April 1st, 2022 Graz (Austria), Orpheum Graz
April 2nd, 2022 Vienna (Austria), Ottakringer Brewery
04/04/2022 Munich, Neue Theaterfabrik
April 5th, 2022 Stuttgart, Wagenhallen
April 6th, 2022 Frankfurt am Main, Zoom
April 7th, 2022 Berlin, Tempodrom

Click the button below to load the contents of open.spotify.com.

Load content

Follow our “TV Noir Favorite Pieces” playlist. There you will find the latest releases from TV Noir artists and other great musical discoveries.

Veröffentlicht am

Keine Spur von Pause bei den Mighty Oaks

Ohne langes Zögern veröffentlichen Mighty Oaks nur knapp ein Jahr nach “All Things Must Go” ihr neues Album “Mexico”. So ein scheinbar niemals endender Lockdown hat also auch seine guten Seiten. Erstmals aufgenommen in Ian Hoopers Heimstudio kehrt “Mexico” klanglich zurück zu den Wurzeln der drei Wahlberliner. Auch, wenn die Produktion des Albums nur ein Jahr dauerte und die Platte während einer globalen Pandemie geschrieben wurde, klingt sie weder gehetzt noch verzweifelt. Die 12 Songs bieten eine harmonische Einheit aus klassischem Folk. Dieser zeigt sich deutlich reduzierter als auf den Vorgängeralben. Und genau das macht “Mexico” zu einer so starken Platte.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Der Opener “Land of Broken Dreams” handelt vom bitteren Rest des Amerikanischen Traums. Der Gegenspieler “Mexico” von diesem Sehnsuchtsort fernab von der Hektik des Alltags. „Ich schrieb den Song, als wir gerade den ersten Lockdown erlebten und Menschen sich um eine Packung Toilettenpapier stritten – wir haben uns als Menschen so weit entwickelt und dann passiert so etwas? Es ist absurd! Es ist ein eskapistischer Song, aber auch eine ironische Kritik der Absurdität von allem gerade“, so Ian Hooper.

Doch das Album ist keineswegs eine Pandemieplatte. Weiterhin spielen Liebe und Beziehungen eine dominante Rolle auf “Mexico”. Sei es im melancholischen “Ghost” oder dem mitreißenden “By Your Side” – die traurig schönen Liebeslider sind das, was Mighty Oaks am besten können. Neben dem Livespielen versteht sich. Für das kommende Jahr ist eine umfangsreiche Tour durch Deutschland und die Nachbarländer geplant.

Mighty Oaks auf Tour:

12.03.2022 Kiel, Max Nachttheater
14.03.2022 Jena, Kassablanca Gleis 1
16.03.2022 Köln, E-Werk Köln
17.03.2022 Würzburg, Posthalle
18.03.2022 Leipzig, Täubchental
19.03.2022 Hannover, Capitol
21.03.2022 Hamburg, edel-optics.de Arena
22.03.2022 Bremen, Kulturzentrum Schlachthof
23.03.2022 Osnabrück, Rosenhof Osnabrück
24.03.2022 Amsterdam (Niederlande), Melkweg
26.03.2022 Heidelberg, halle02
27.03.2022 Luxemburg (Luxemburg), den Atelier
28.03.2022 Brüssel (Belgien), Ancienne Belgique
30.03.2022 Paris (Frankreich), La Maroquinerie
01.04.2022 Graz (Österreich), Orpheum Graz
02.04.2022 Wien (Österreich), Ottakringer Brauerei
04.04.2022 München, Neue Theaterfabrik
05.04.2022 Stuttgart, Wagenhallen
06.04.2022 Frankfurt am Main, Zoom
07.04.2022 Berlin, Tempodrom

Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von open.spotify.com zu laden.

Inhalt laden

Folgt unserer “TV Noir Lieblingsstücke”-Playlist. Dort findet Ihr die aktuellen Veröffentlichungen von TV Noir-Künstlern und -Künstlerinnen und weiteren tollen musikalischen Entdeckungen.