With "Sunnyside" Aki Bosse has released his eighth studio album. While the title promises cheerful pop songs, the album surprises with a whole lot of melancholy and profundity. Even with the first pre-release “Das Paradies”, Bosse pondered a utopian world without any hatred or resentment. “Flowers over dirt” is similarly critical - but it also sheds light on the hopeful aspects of our society. Young people who speak out for the climate, people who help the weaker.

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

The love songs on “Sunnyside” also sound a little different than usual. “Off-season”, for example, is about the parts of a relationship in which the partner is not doing so well and how you can get through this. The opposite is the wonderfully cute "Behind the Moon". Bosse presents his songs in the usual fresh language with countless Anglicisms without too much digression and thus manages to draw very clear pictures. This is also the case with the intimate "father" - definitely one of the highlights of the album. An emotional homage with which numerous listeners can certainly identify.

Instrumentally, “Sunnyside” is extremely playful. A bit more poppy than before with more electronic elements that make the songs even more danceable. The singer doesn't stop at Autotune on “Vagabund”, his hymn for the restless. While listening to the gigantic festival shows, you can literally see which bosses get the masses moving. All in all, the album is an extremely well-rounded affair that can convince without any major weaknesses.

The autumn tour that was part of the album had to be postponed until next year.

Bosses on tour:

 
April 6th, 2022, Bremen Pier 2
04/09/2022, palladium
April 10th, 2022, Offenbach City Hall
April 12th, 2022, Erfurt Thuringia Hall
April 13th, 2022, Munich Zenith
April 14th, 2022, Stuttgart Liederhalle Beethovensaal
April 16, 2022, Berlin Max-Schmeling-Halle
April 17th, 2022, Hamburg Barclaycard Arena
April 18, 2022, Leipzig Haus Auensee
April 20, 2022, Hanover Swiss Life Hall
April 21, 2022, Münster MCC Halle Münsterland
April 22nd, 2022, Kiel Wunderino Arena

Tickets are available here.

Mit „Sunnyside“ veröffentlicht Aki Bosse sein mittlerweile achtes Studioalbum. Während der Titel fröhliche Popsongs verspricht, überrascht das Album durch eine ganze Menge Melancholie und Tiefsinn. Bereits bei der ersten Vorabveröffentlichung „Das Paradies“ sinnierte Bosse über eine utopische Welt ganz ohne Hass und Missgunst. Ähnlich kritisch ist „Blumen über Dreck“ – dieser beleuchtet jedoch auch die hoffnungsvollen Aspekte unserer Gesellschaft. Junge Menschen, die sich für das Klima laut machen, Menschen, die den Schwächeren helfen.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Auch die Liebeslieder auf “Sunnyside” klingen etwas anders als sonst. „Nebensaison“ beispielsweise dreht sich um die Teile einer Beziehung, in denen es dem Partner eben mal nicht so gut geht und wie man dies durchstehen kann. Dem entgegengesetzt steht das wunderbar niedliche „Hinter dem Mond“. Bosse präsentiert seine Songs in gewohnt frischer Sprache mit unzähligen Anglizismen ohne große Umschweifungen und schafft es damit, sehr klare Bilder zu zeichnen. So auch beim intimen „Vater“ – mit Sicherheit eines der Highlights des Albums. Eine emotionale Hommage mit welcher sich sicher zahlreiche Hörer*innen identifizieren können.

Instrumental ist „Sunnyside“ äußerst verspielt. Etwas poppiger als zuvor mit mehr elektronischen Elementen, die die Songs noch tanzbarer machen. Auch vor Autotune macht der Sänger auf „Vagabund“, seiner Hymne für die Rastlosen, nicht halt. Man kann beim Hören die gigantischen Festivalshows förmlich sehen, bei welchen Bosse die Massen in Bewegung setzt. Insgesamt ist das Album eine äußerst runde Sache, das ohne große Schwächen überzeugen kann.

Die zum Album gehörende Herbsttour musste auf das nächste Jahr verschoben werden.

Bosse auf Tour:

 
06.04.2022, Bremen Pier 2
09.04.2022,  Palladium
10.04.2022, Offenbach Stadthalle
12.04.2022, Erfurt Thüringenhalle
13.04.2022, München Zenith
14.04.2022, Stuttgart Liederhalle Beethovensaal
16.04.2022, Berlin Max-Schmeling-Halle
17.04.2022, Hamburg Barclaycard Arena
18.04.2022, Leipzig Haus Auensee
20.04.2022, Hannover Swiss Life Hall
21.04.2022, Münster MCC Halle Münsterland
22.04.2022, Kiel Wunderino Arena

Tickets gibt es hier.