Even at the beginning of the pandemic, Danger Dan surprised us when he sat down at the piano for “pasta and toilet paper”. Well, a year later, there is more of the good stuff. While it seemed like Danger had Dan with the pre-single "All of this is covered by artistic freedom"Already shot most of the powder, the album of the same name manages to surprise. There are 11 varied songs on it, which convince both in terms of content and sound. Because even if the musician dares to write love songs, they have a twist so that they don't fall into kitsch despite the strings. Be it the eternal higher, faster, further comparison with the competition on the single market (“Nevertheless”) or the existence in view of one's own finiteness (“A good news”).

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Danger Dan, political, sarcastic, private

In contrast to the pieces by numerous hip-hop colleagues, the biographical texts are not pompous self-congratulations either. “Ingloria Victoria” - a clever accounting with the old school and at the same time criticism of the restrictive school system or the extremely sensitive “sticky tape” give insights that can probably only work in this form on a piano album.

“I once had a rat, I don't have one anymore
But I still have a scar on her wrist
My brother glued a gerbil with sticky tape
It didn't work, she went dead
But trying is okay
If I didn't know better
Then I glued myself
Tape from head to toe
You can at least try it. "

Danger Dan - scotch tape

Of course, “This is all covered by artistic freedom” is not the only political piece. The happily arranged “The Terrible Book” shows the most abstruse events of the last year while “I beat up the sex tourists in Bangkok” describes exactly what the title describes. But here, too, there are a few surprises in terms of content. A common thread that runs through the entire plate and is certainly responsible for its success. “That is all covered by artistic freedom” moves far away from the clichés and expectations of the genre and comes out completely without dropouts. Only with “Start every day with a smile” should you turn the system a little quieter.

How Danger Dan will do live with this material will be shown on the upcoming tour, which has to be expanded again and again, as the rush has probably exceeded all expectations. There are still a few tickets left here.

Danger Dan on tour:

May 3rd, 2022 Leipzig, Conne Island
May 4th, 2022 Erlangen, E-Werk
05.05.2022 Vienna (Austria), Odeon
May 6th, 2022 Munich, Feierwerk
May 7th, 2022 Wiesbaden, Ringkirche
May 9th, 2022 Cologne, Luxor
May 10th, 2022 Hamburg, market hall
May 12th, 2022 Bremen, slaughterhouse
May 13, 2022 Hanover, Faust
May 14th, 2022 Dresden, Aunt Ju
May 25th, 2022 Berlin, Festsaal Kreuzberg
October 3rd, 2022 Frankfurt am Main, Alte Oper
October 21, 2022 Leipzig, Felsenkeller
10/22/2022 Vienna (Austria), Volkstheater
October 23, 2022 Vienna (Austria), Volkstheater
October 25, 2022 Stuttgart, Mozart Hall
October 27, 2022 Hamburg, Friedrich-Ebert-Halle
October 28, 2022 Hamburg, Friedrich-Ebert-Halle
November 1st, 2022 Berlin, Admiralspalast
November 2nd, 2022 Berlin, Admiralspalast
November 3rd, 2022 Berlin, Admiralspalast
December 26th, 2022 Nuremberg, Meistersingerhalle
December 27, 2022 Düsseldorf, Tonhalle
December 29, 2022 Cologne, Theater am Tanzbrunnen

Click the button below to load the contents of open.spotify.com.

Load content

Follow our “TV Noir Favorite Pieces” playlist. There you will find the latest releases from TV Noir artists and other great musical discoveries.

Veröffentlicht am

Danger Dan kann mehr als nur provozieren

Schon zu Beginn der Pandemie überraschte uns Danger Dan, als er sich für “Nudeln und Klopapier” ans Klavier setzte. Nun, ein Jahr später, gibt es mehr von dem guten Zeug. Während es schien, als hätte Danger Dan mit der Vorab-Single “Das ist alles von der Kunstfreiheit gedeckt” schon das meiste Pulver verschossen, schafft es das gleichnamige Album zu überraschen. Darauf befinden sich 11 abwechslungsreiche Songs, die sowohl inhaltlich als auch klanglich überzeugen. Denn selbst, wenn der Musiker sich an Liebeslieder wagt, haben diese einen Twist, um trotz Streichern nicht in Kitsch zu verfallen. Sei es das ewige höher, schneller, weiter Vergleichen mit der Konkurrenz auf dem Singlemarkt (“Trotzdem”) oder das Existieren in Anbetracht der eigenen Endlichkeit (“Eine gute Nachricht”).

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Danger Dan, politisch, sarkastisch, privat

Auch die biografischen Texte sind im Gegensatz zu den Stücken zahlreicher Hip-Hop-Kolleg*innen keine pompösen Selbstbeweihräucherungen. “Ingloria Victoria” – eine clevere Abrechnung mit der alten Schule und zeitgleich Kritik am einengenden Schulsystem oder das äußerst sensible “Tesafilm” schenken Einblicke, die in dieser Form vermutlich nur auf einem Klavieralbum funktionieren können.

„Ich hatte mal ‘ne Ratte, die habe ich nicht mehr
Doch ich hab noch eine Narbe am Handgelenk von ihr
Mein Bruder hat ‘ne Wüstenspringmaus mit Tesafilm geklebt
Es klappte nicht, sie ging drauf
Aber versuchen ist okay
Wenn ich es nicht besser wüsste
Dann klebte ich mir
Tesa vom Kopf bis zu den Füßen
Kann man ja wenigstens probieren.“

Danger Dan – Tesafilm

Natürlich bleibt “Das ist alles von der Kunstfreiheit gedeckt” nicht das einzige politische Stück. Das fröhlich arrangierte “Das schreckliche Buch” zeigt die abstrusesten Ereignisse des letzten Jahres während “Ich verprügelte die Sextouristen in Bangkok” genau das beschreibt, was der Titel beschreibt. Doch auch hier gibt es inhaltlich wieder die ein oder andere Überraschung. Ein roter Faden, der sich durch die gesamte Platte zieht und mit Sicherheit verantwortlich für ihren Erfolg ist. “Das ist alles von der Kunstfreiheit gedeckt” bewegt sich fernab von Klischees und Erwartungen des Genres und kommt gänzlich ohne Aussetzer aus. Lediglich bei “Beginne jeden Tag mit einem Lächeln” sollte man die Anlage doch etwas leiser drehen.

Wie sich Danger Dan live mit diesem Material schlagen wird, wird sich auf der kommenden Tour zeigen, die schon jetzt immer wieder erweitert werden muss, da der Andrang wohl sämtliche Erwartungen übertroffen hat. Ein paar Tickets gibt es noch hier.

Danger Dan auf Tour:

03.05.2022 Leipzig,Conne Island
04.05.2022 Erlangen, E-Werk
05.05.2022 Wien (Österreich), Odeon
06.05.2022 München, Feierwerk
07.05.2022 Wiesbaden, Ringkirche
09.05.2022 Köln, Luxor
10.05.2022 Hamburg, Markthalle
12.05.2022 Bremen, Schlachthof
13.05.2022 Hannover, Faust
14.05.2022 Dresden, Tante Ju
25.05.2022 Berlin, Festsaal Kreuzberg
03.10.2022 Frankfurt am Main, Alte Oper
21.10.2022 Leipzig, Felsenkeller
22.10.2022 Wien (Österreich), Volkstheater
23.10.2022 Wien (Österreich), Volkstheater
25.10.2022 Stuttgart, Mozartsaal
27.10.2022 Hamburg, Friedrich-Ebert-Halle
28.10.2022 Hamburg, Friedrich-Ebert-Halle
01.11.2022 Berlin, Admiralspalast
02.11.2022 Berlin, Admiralspalast
03.11.2022 Berlin, Admiralspalast
26.12.2022 Nürnberg, Meistersingerhalle
27.12.2022 Düsseldorf, Tonhalle
29.12.2022 Köln, Theater am Tanzbrunnen

Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von open.spotify.com zu laden.

Inhalt laden

Folgt unserer “TV Noir Lieblingsstücke”-Playlist. Dort findet Ihr die aktuellen Veröffentlichungen von TV Noir-Künstlern und -Künstlerinnen und weiteren tollen musikalischen Entdeckungen.