The "Queen of Alt-Rock Angst" (Rolling Stone) is back. Reports after eight years of rest Alanis Morissette back with their ninth album “Such Pretty Forks in the Road”.

However, the Canadian has by no means been completely inactive in recent years. She started working on the new record back in 2017. That year, the now 46-year-old revealed in her podcast “Conversation with Alanis Morissette”, one of her new songs - “Diagnosis” - was about her postpartum mood crises and that she has been feeling better since she was diagnosed. A few months later, the now three-time mother revealed that another new song - “Ablaze” - was dedicated to her children.

Alanis himself describes her new album as a “piano record”, which is quickly understandable in view of the key role played by the piano on the eleven pieces. With the resulting minor melancholy, “Such Pretty Forks in the Road” is reminiscent of the 1998 “Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie”, but without such powerful rock songs as “Joining You” or “So Pure”.

Already on her pre-single “Reasons I Drink” the singer / songwriter shows that she is increasingly heading towards the mainstream. Nevertheless - her handling of language and the use of her voice make her music so unique and unmistakable that it becomes clear once again: Alanis Morissette plays in her very own league.

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

She does not even try to repeat the immense success of her 1995 mammoth work “Jagged Little Pill” (33 million copies sold worldwide) with the new record. But even 25 years later, Alanis Morissette still does it with full passion to show her soul life to the outside world.

Click the button below to load the contents of open.spotify.com.

Load content

Follow our “TV Noir Favorite Pieces” playlist. There you will find the latest releases from TV Noir artists and other great musical discoveries.

Ein vertontes Tagebuch: Alanis Morissette mit neuem Album

Die „Queen of Alt-Rock Angst“ (Rolling Stone) ist zurück. Nach acht Jahren Ruhepause meldet Alanis Morissette sich mit ihrem neunten Album “Such Pretty Forks in the Road” zurück.

Ganz untätig war die Kanadierin in den vergangenen Jahren aber keineswegs. Bereits 2017 begann sie mit den Arbeiten an der neuen Platte. In jenem Jahr enthüllte die heute 46-Jährige in ihrem Podcast “Conversation with Alanis Morissette”, einer ihrer neuen Songs – “Diagnosis” – handele von ihren postpartalen Stimmungskrisen und dass sie sich seit dieser Diagnose besser fühle. Einige Monate später verriet die inzwischen dreifache Mutter, dass ein weiteres neues Lied – “Ablaze” – ihren Kindern gewidmet sei.

Alanis selbst bezeichnet ihr neues Album als „Piano-Platte“, was angesichts der tragenden Rolle des Klaviers auf den elf Stücken schnell nachvollziehbar wird. Mit der daraus erwachsenden Moll-Melancholie erinnert “Such Pretty Forks in the Road” stellenweise an das 1998 erschienene “Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie”, allerdings ohne so druckvolle Rocksongs wie etwa “Joining You” oder “So Pure”.

Schon auf ihrer Vorab-Single “Reasons I Drink” zeigt die Singer/ Songwriterin, dass sie zunehmend in Richtung Mainstream unterwegs ist. Dennoch – ihr Umgang mit Sprache und der Einsatz ihrer Stimme machen ihre Musik so einzigartig und unverwechselbar, dass einmal mehr klar wird: Alanis Morissette spielt in ihrer ganz eigenen Liga.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Den immensen Erfolg ihres 1995 erschienen Mammutwerks “Jagged Little Pill” (33 Millionen verkaufte Exemplare weltweit) versucht sie mit der neuen Platte gar nicht erst zu wiederholen. Doch ihr Seelenleben nach außen tragen, das tut Alanis Morissette auch 25 Jahre später noch mit voller Leidenschaft.

Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von open.spotify.com zu laden.

Inhalt laden

Folgt unserer “TV Noir Lieblingsstücke”-Playlist. Dort findet Ihr die aktuellen Veröffentlichungen von TV Noir-Künstlern und -Künstlerinnen und allen, die sich ebenfalls in diesem musikalischen Kosmos bewegen.